Galerie Chantal Crousel is pleased to present Slip of the Line (2018), a video by Anri Sala. The film invites us to a strange journey following the production line of a glass factory. Anri Sala uncovers this fascinating work with his own words.

"Slip of the Line follows the shaping of matter in a wineglass factory, where glass is transformed from a glowing molten state to transparent, solid articles, as it moves from one post to the next, through an orchestrated series of artisanal manipulations.

The journey of the material follows its ‘natural’ course until, unexpectedly, a magician bends the now solid stems of the wineglasses through an eerie series of hand gestures and ‘eye contact’ with the matter. His acts of magic transcend the workflow of an assembly line, redeeming the goods from their prescribed form and function."

"Daydreaming the factory as a complementary libretto, where the magic of work meets the work of magic, Slip of the Line muses with the idea of teasing and twisting the paradigms of progress and its professed curve of advancement. It’s as if, intuitively, it uses its share of magic to expand the physical limits of matter, in the hope – or belief – that one could consequently extend the bounds of the world."

pic

Anri Sala
Slip of the Line
2018
Single channel UHD video and stereo sound installation, color.
9min47s
Edition 1/6 + 3 AP
Price: 240,000 EUR excl. VAT

"By introducing the magician into the heart of the production process, Slip of the Line grants it traits of an enchanted, otherworldly realm. Rationality, physical laws and economic efficiency recede to allow the process a degree of lyrical unknown. The assembly line resembles a sentence that is drifting away from its intended meaning, having stumbled on a slip of the tongue."

"Back in the factory, as they pursue their journey through the assembly line, these unusual glasses elicit nuanced changes to the existing workers’ manual gestures and the automated machines’ actions. This allows quasi-automated gestures to embrace a new transient quality of choreography and bestows on the machines an air of ballet mécanique. Responding to the new shapes makes the workers’ movements seemingly more human, as they have to individually grapple with the bowing of each glass."

pic

Anri Sala
Resting Spells
2018
Blown glass
32 x 19 cm | 12 5/8 x 7 1/2 inches

Price: 28,000 EUR excl. VAT

pic

Anri Sala
Resting Spells
2018
Blown glass
32 x 19 cm | 12 5/8 x 7 1/2 inches

Price: 28,000 EUR excl. VAT

Exhibition view, Anri Sala, If and Only If, Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris (2018).
Photo: Florian Kleinefenn

The captivating aspect of the three glasses is that although created in the same place they result not only from the actions of the magician but from a synthesis of several actions.

The magician’s intervention does indeed lead to the curvature of the stem, while that of a master glassmaker, whose breath brought the "hat" which caps them into life, and that has not been carved as it should have been, adds to this strangeness. With the consequence of perfectly blurring the perception of what results from craftsmanship and what from magic.

"In an age when increasing automation means less direct human involvement (not necessarily less human oversight) and an ensuing undermining of human gestures, simply creating potential for new ones, however small, leads to subtle kinesic permutations that no programming and algorithm-induced workflows are capable of."

— Anri Sala

Exhibition view, Anri Sala, If and Only If, Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris (2018).
Photo: Florian Kleinefenn

Photo: Marc Domage

 

 

Anri Sala
 


Born in 1974, Tirana, Albania.
Lives and works in Berlin.
 

Since the 1990’s, Anri Sala has been working in a range of media including video, photography, installation, and more recently drawings and sculptures. His work explores the boundaries between image and sound in order to generate carefully assembled time-based moments which overlap one another. Through a new form of language, his work opens to multiple perspectives and interpretations, bringing together the past, present and future. According prominence to light, sound and space design, Anri Sala’s work is often presented in immersive spaces, thus stimulating our senses and creating a link between the body and the architecture.


Anri Sala has been awarded a number of prizes during his career, such as the The Vincent Award, Den Haag in 2014, and the Biennale di Venezia (Young Artist Prize) in 2001, among others.

Solo exhibitions were held at numerous major institutions such as the Botín Foundation, Santander (2019-2020); Mudam Luxembourg (2019); Castello di Rivoli, Museo d'Arte Contemporanea, Turin (2019); Garage Museum of Contemporary Art, Moscow (2018); Kaldor Public Art Projects, Sydney (2017); Museo Tamayo, Mexico D.F. (2017);  New Museum, New York (2016); Haus der Kunst, Munich (2014); Baltimore Museum of Art (2014); Tel Aviv Museum of Art (2014); Palazzo Grassi Teatrino, Venice (2013); CAC Malaga (2013); French Pavilion, Venice Biennale (2013); Musée National d’Art Moderne, Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris (2012); National Museum of Art, Osaka (2011).

Submit
Cancel

Galerie Chantal Crousel est heureuse de présenter Slip of the Line (2018), une vidéo d'Anri Sala. Le film nous convie à un étrange voyage qui suit la chaîne de production d’une manufacture verrière. Anri Sala nous présente son œuvre fascinante.

« Slip of the Line s’intéresse au façonnage de la matière dans une usine de verres à vin. D’un poste de travail à un autre, et au travers d’une suite orchestrée de manipulations artisanales, le verre passe d’un état de matière incandescente et fondue à celui d’objets transparents et solides.

Le périple de la matière suit alors son cours « naturel » jusqu'à ce que, de façon inattendue, un magicien plie les tiges désormais solides des verres à vin grâce à une série de gestes et de « regards » avec la matière. Ses actes magiques transcendent la ligne de travail de la chaîne de montage, en détournant les marchandises de leur forme et de leur fonction prescrites et habituelles. »

« En rêvant de l'usine comme d'une sorte de libretto complémentaire, où la magie du travail s’unit au travail de la magie, Slip of the Line s'amuse à jouer, à taquiner et à détourner les paradigmes du progrès et ses soi-disant courbes d’avancement. C'est comme si, intuitivement, l’œuvre utilisait sa part de magie pour repousser les limites physiques de la matière, dans l'espoir - ou la croyance - que l'on pourrait par conséquent étendre les frontières de ce monde. »

pic

Anri Sala
Slip of the Line
2018
Vidéo UHD et installation sonore en stéreo, couleur.
9min47s
Edition 1/6 + 3 AP
Prix : 240 000 EUR H.T.

« En introduisant le magicien au cœur du processus même de la production, Slip of the Line lui octroie les caractéristiques d’un univers enchanté, d’un royaume d'un autre monde. La rationalité, les lois physiques et la problématique de l’efficacité économique s'effacent alors pour laisser place à l’avancée d’une forme d’inconnu lyrique. La chaîne de montage ressemble à une phrase qui s'éloigne peu à peu de son sens premier, comme si elle s’était heurtée à un lapsus. »

« De retour à l'usine, alors qu'ils poursuivent leur parcours à travers la chaîne de montage, ces drôles de verres altèrent la gestuelle des ouvriers et les actions robotisées des machines. Cela permet aux gestes quasi-automatisés de se plier à une nouvelle chorégraphie éphémère, et confère aux engins une allure de ballet mécanique. En réponse à ces nouvelles figures, les mouvements des ouvriers deviennent plus humains, car ils doivent individuellement se confronter à la courbure de chaque verre. »

pic

Anri Sala
Resting Spells
2018
Verre soufflé
32 x 19 cm | 12 5/8 x 7 1/2 inches

Prix : 28 000 EUR H.T.

pic

Anri Sala
Resting Spells
2018
Verre soufflé
32 x 19 cm | 12 5/8 x 7 1/2 inches

Prix : 28 000 EUR H.T.

Vue d'exposition, Anri Sala, If and Only If, Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris (2018).
Photo : Florian Kleinefenn

Ce qu’il y a de captivant dans les trois verres, c’est que, quoiqu’exécutés au même endroit, ils ne sont pas seulement des conséquences des actes du magicien, mais une synthèse de plusieurs actions.

L’intervention de ce dernier aboutit en effet à la courbure du pied, tandis que celle d’un maître verrier, dont le lieu du souffle est donné à voir dans le « chapeau » qui les coiffe et n’a pas été découpé comme il aurait dû l’être, lui ajoute cette étrangeté. Avec pour conséquence de parfaitement brouiller la perception de ce qui relèverait du savoir-faire ou de la magie.

« L’époque de l'automatisation croissante qui réduit l’implication humaine directe (sans rien enlever à la supervision humaine) et génère un affaiblissement des gestes manuels, tout en créant la potentialité de nouveaux mouvements quoique minime, conduit à des permutations kinésiques subtiles qu’aucun programme ni aucune chaîne de production menée par un algorithme ne peut susciter. »

— Anri Sala

Vue d'exposition, Anri Sala, If and Only If, Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris (2018).
Photo : Florian Kleinefenn

Photo : Marc Domage

 

 

Anri Sala
 


Né en 1974 à Tirana, Albanie.
Vit et travaille à Berlin.
 

Depuis les années 1990, la pratique d’Anri Sala se développe sur un large éventail de médiums incluant la vidéo, la photographie, l’installation et plus récemment le dessin et la sculpture. Son travail explore les frontières entre l’image et le son en vue de générer des temporalités soigneusement assemblées, qui se chevauchent les unes avec les autres. À travers une nouvelle forme de langage, son travail ouvre une multitude de perspectives et d’interprétations rassemblant ainsi passé, présent et futur. Parce que l’artiste accorde une grande importance à la lumière, au son et à la scénographie, ses œuvres sont souvent présentées dans des espaces immersifs qui stimulent nos sens et créent un lien entre corps et architecture.

Il a remporté de nombreux prix au cours de sa carrière, notamment : The Vincent Award, Den Haag en 2014 et le Biennale di Venezia (Young Artist Prize) en 2001.


L’œuvre d'Anri Sala a par ailleurs été exposée dans de nombreuses institutions majeures, lors d'expositions personnelles, telles que la Fondation Botín, Santander (2019-2020) ; Mudam Luxembourg (2019) ; Castello di Rivoli, Museo d'Arte Contemporanea, Turin (2019) ; Garage Museum of Contemporary Art, Moscou (2018) ; Kaldor Public Art Projects, Sydney (2017) ; Museo Tamayo, Mexico D.F. (2017) ; New Museum, New York (2016) ; Haus der Kunst, Munich (2014) ; Baltimore Museum of Art, Baltimore (2014) ; The Helena Rubinstein Pavillon for Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv Museum of Art (2014) ; Palazzo Grassi Teatrino, Venise (2013) ; CAC Malaga (2013) ; Pavillon français, Biennale de Venise (2013) ; Musée National d'Art Moderne, Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris (2012) ; National Museum of Art, Osaka (2011).

Envoyer
Annuler