David Douard takes over and transforms the exhibition space of frac île-de-france, le plateau in Paris for his solo show, curated by Xavier Franceschi.

Galerie Chantal Crousel is pleased to share David Douard's new works: installations, sculptural and sound works, videos, fragments of writings, as well as urban and architectural elements. On the occasion of his solo exhibition, David Douard designes a new social space — hybrid and in constant movement that reveals its chimerical nature.
 
Combining several language registers, everyday objects and materials, from low-tech and popular culture, David Douard’s works create shifts in meaning that generate poetry and fiction. The texts and poems he collects on the Internet are coupled with whimsical, damaged, cut-out and patched up forms result in full mutation sculptural pieces.

David Douard, O’ T (Lorelei), 2020

David Douard
O’ T (Lorelei)
2020
Silk screened wood, bus stop plexiglass windows, paper collages, metal, plaster, molasse, magnets, knife


Price: 17,000 EUR excl. VAT

Indifferently garnering junk, David Douard's installations – composed of materials whose organic and anarchical characteristics reflect those of social movements – yield changing bodies.

"I’m really interested in disidentification techniques. The desire of any citizen to no longer be controlled hides behind the masked face.

The mask questions identity and relationships with police surveillance, or any form of control over communities. This is what lies behind wearing a mask, balaclava and hood. The trend to assert, therefore, radical individual and collective anonymity."

— David Douard

David Douard, Us / They, 2020

David Douard
Us / They
2020
Wood, mirrors, bronze and aluminum masks, metal, magnets, glass, silk screened fabrics, silk screened plastic, 3D printing, metal chains


Price: 26,000 EUR excl. VAT

David Douard, O’ T (Maladjusted), 2020

David Douard
O’ T (Maladjusted)
2020
Plaster, metal, aluminum, leather, fabric, bronze, paper, wicker, plexiglass, water pump


Price: 25,000 EUR excl. VAT

"The exhibition is called O’ Ti’ Lulaby. I was thinking about a group song, a lullaby, a murmur, breathing placed in the corner of the bed for insomniac children. It may be a medieval song or the sound and air from a fan in a data center."

— David Douard

David Douard, EV’R 3, 2020

David Douard
EV’R 3
2020
aluminum frame, silk screened fabric, silk screened wood, silk screened plastic
151 x 110 x 14.5 cm | 59 1/2 x 43 2/8 x 5 6/8 inches

Price: 16,000 EUR excl. VAT

David Douard, EV’R 2, 2020

David Douard
EV’R 2
2020
aluminum frame, silk screened fabric, silk screened wood, silk screened plastic
151 x 151 x 14 cm | 59 1/2 x 59 1/2 x 5 1/2 inches

Price: 17,000 EUR excl. VAT

Multiple spaces play on superimposition and transparency, rich in frameworks and layers that accentuate the undulating and moving effect of the images, objects and bodies. The site is therefore covered with a patchwork of sensitive and architectural epidermises, like a body with vital areas that are alternatively dormant or awake and activated by a myriad of flows.

David Douard, Cortex OV Light 2, 2020

David Douard
Cortex OV Light 2
2020
Plastic, fabric, plaster, magnets, metal, ceramic, 3D printing


Price: 15,000 EUR excl. VAT

David Douard, 2020

David Douard
Cortex OV Light
2020
Fabric, metal, leather, metal chains, N20 caps, 3D printing, laquer, mannequin head


Price: 26,000 EUR excl. VAT

In this universe, the structure equally partitions and reveals, hides and yet is assertive, and the anthropomorphic objects that intervene desert the partitions in favour of a fragmented centrality. The hindering and constraint of bodies are central to this individual and collective immersion where information, objects and figures echo both control and the subversive power of images and language.

"I’m looking for forms that can contain a certain energy, flow and life, to reflect on life and existence, the various pieces must be able to mutually influence one another and influence the space. The further it is from what we know, the closer it is to us in my opinion."

— David Douard

David Douard, O’ T (Kappa), 2020

David Douard
O’ T (Kappa)
2020
Plaster, aluminum, fabric, glass, metal chains, leather, silk screened leather, fabric, plexiglass, video loop 90', sound, water pump, tv screen
328 x 135 x 130 cm | 129 1/8 x 53 1/8 x 51 1/8 inchesApprox. Ø 50 cm | Ø 19 5/8 inches73 x 135 x 130 cm | 28 6/8 x 53 1/8 x 51 1/8 inches105 x 62 cm | 41 3/8 x 24 3/8 inches

Breathing, language and his stutter are also insinuated in various forms – cut-up voices and words, fragments of writings – and this little refrain seems to mirror a collective voice that defies any categorization.

David Douard, HERE EV’R NOW 2, 2020

David Douard
HERE EV’R NOW 2
2020
Video projection 1' loop (extract from My Own Private Idaho, 1991 de Gus Vant Sant), sound installation, curtains
0min

Price: 16,000 EUR excl. VAT

David Douard



 

Born in 1983 in Perpignan, David Douard lives and works in Paris, France.

David Douard sets his artistic practice at the intersection of language, sound and sculpture. Gathered on Internet, the texts and poems shaping his artworks are manipulated and transformed to function as a vital flux fueling his sculptures. Infused by a chaotic and decadent atmosphere, David Douard exhibitions create an environment out of reality where the architecture of the place and the artworks invading it seem to respond to a metaphoric if ever anismist logic.

Graduated from the École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris in 2011, his work has been shown in many international institutions such as:

Frac Île-de-France, Le Plateau (2020), Irish Museum of Modern Art (IMMA), Dublin (2019); KURA. c/o Fonderia Artistica Battaglia, Milan (2018); Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2014 and 2018); Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris (2015 and 2017); Kunstverein Braunschweig  (2016); Fridericianum, Kassel, (2015); Sculpture Center, New York (2014); Astrup Fearnley Museet, Oslo (2014); Fondation d’entreprise Ricard, Paris (2012).

David Douard participated in various biennials: 12th Biennale de Lyon, France (2013); Taipei Biennial, Taiwan (2014); Asia Culture Center - Gwangju Biennale, South Korea (2018).


David Douard was in residency at The Academy of France in Rome - Villa Medici (2017-2018).

Photo: Franck Ferville.

Submit
Cancel

David Douard investit et transforme l’espace du frac île-de-france, le plateau à Paris, sous le commissariat de Xavier Franceschi.
 
La Galerie Chantal Crousel a le plaisir de partager les nouvelles productions de David Douard ; installations, pièces sculpturales, sonores et vidéos, fragments d'écrits, objets anthropomorphes, éléments urbains et architecturaux. Pour son exposition personnelle, David Douard redéfinit un nouvel espace social, hybride, en mouvement continu dont émerge une matière chimérique.
 
Mêlant plusieurs registres de langage, des objets quotidiens aux matériaux à la fois issus du low-tech et de la culture populaire, les œuvres de David Douard provoquent des glissements de sens générateurs de poésie et de fiction. Les textes et poèmes qu'il collecte sur Internet sont associés à des formes tourmentées, abîmées, découpées et rapiécées donnant naissance à des pièces sculpturales en constante mutation.

David Douard, O’ T (Lorelei), 2020

David Douard
O’ T (Lorelei)
2020
Bois sérigraphié, vitres plexiglass d’abris bus, collages papier, métal, plâtre, mélasse, aimants, couteau


Prix : 17 000 EUR H.T.

Récoltant indifféremment les scories du monde, les installations de David Douard – composées de matériaux dont les caractéristiques organiques et anarchiques font écho à celles des mouvements sociaux – nous donnent à voir des corps en mutation.

« Je m’intéresse beaucoup aux techniques de dés-identification. Derrière le visage masqué se cache le désir de tout citoyen de ne plus être contrôlé.

Le masque questionne l’identité et son rapport à la surveillance policière, ou une forme de contrôle sur les corps quelle qu’elle soit. C’est ce qui figure derrière le port du masque, de la cagoule et de la capuche. La tendance à l’affirmation, donc, d’un anonymat individuel et collectif radical. »

— David Douard

David Douard, Us / They, 2020

David Douard
Us / They
2020
Bois, films miroirs, masque en bronze et aluminium, métal, aimants, verre, tissu sérigraphié, plastique sérigraphié, impression 3D en plastique, chaînes


Prix : 26 000 EUR H.T.

David Douard, O’ T (Maladjusted), 2020

David Douard
O’ T (Maladjusted)
2020
Plâtre, métal, aluminium, cuir, tissu, bronze, papier, osier, plexiglass, pompe, eau


Prix : 25 000 EUR H.T.

« Pour l'exposition O’ Ti’ Lulaby, j’ai pensé à un chant collectif, une berceuse, une rumeur, un souffle que l’on pose au coin du lit pour des enfants insomniaques. Cela peut être un chant du Moyen Âge comme le son et l’air d’un ventilateur de data center. Un truc qui nous relie tous et que l’on porte en nous dans notre sommeil, à l’intérieur de nos yeux clos. »

— David Douard

David Douard, EV’R 3, 2020

David Douard
EV’R 3
2020
Cadre en aluminium, tissu, bois et plastique sérigraphié
151 x 110 x 14.5 cm | 59 1/2 x 43 2/8 x 5 6/8 inches

Prix : 16 000 EUR H.T.

David Douard, EV’R 2, 2020

David Douard
EV’R 2
2020
Cadre en aluminium, tissu, bois et plastique sérigraphié
151 x 151 x 14 cm | 59 1/2 x 59 1/2 x 5 1/2 inches

Prix : 17 000 EUR H.T.

Les espaces multiples se jouent de la superposition et de la transparence, avec force trames et calques qui accentuent l’effet ondulatoire et mouvant des images, des objets et des corps. Le lieu se revêt ainsi d’un patchwork de peaux sensitives et architecturales, tel un corps dont les zones vitales sont alternativement en éveil ou en ou en sommeil et activées par des flux multiples.

David Douard, Cortex OV Light 2, 2020

David Douard
Cortex OV Light 2
2020
Plastique, tissus, plâtre, aimants, métal, céramique, impression 3D


Prix : 15 000 EUR H.T.

David Douard, 2020

David Douard
Cortex OV Light
2020
Tissu, métal, cuir sérigraphié, chaînes, capsules N2O, impression 3D en plastique, laque, tête de mannequin


Prix : 26 000 EUR H.T.

Dans cet univers, l’architecture cloisonne aussi bien qu’elle révèle, se cache tout en affirmant son autorité, et les objets anthropomorphes qui s’y immiscent abandonnent les parois au profit d’une centralité éclatée. L’entrave et la contrainte des corps sont au centre de cette immersion individuelle et collective où les informations, les objets, les figures renvoient aussi bien à la maîtrise qu’au pouvoir subversif des images et du langage.

« Je cherche des formes qui puissent contenir une énergie, un flux, une vie, où penser la vie, l'existence. Les différentes pièces doivent pouvoir se contaminer entres elles et contaminer l’espace. Un potentiel de corruption, d’autonomie pure, une fierté d’être là, sans gêne. Et plus c’est loin de ce que l’on connait, plus à mon sens c’est proche de nous. »

— David Douard

David Douard, O’ T (Kappa), 2020

David Douard
O’ T (Kappa)
2020
Plâtre, aluminium, tissus, verre, chaînes, cuir sérigraphié, tissu, plexiglas, vidéo, 90’ en boucle, son, pompe à eau, écran
328 x 135 x 130 cm | 129 1/8 x 53 1/8 x 51 1/8 inchesApprox. Ø 50 cm | Ø 19 5/8 inches73 x 135 x 130 cm | 28 6/8 x 53 1/8 x 51 1/8 inches105 x 62 cm | 41 3/8 x 24 3/8 inches

Le souffle, le langage et son bégaiement s’insinuent également sous différentes formes – cut-up de voix ou de paroles, fragments d’écrits – et cette petite ritournelle semble se faire l’écho d’une parole collective échappant à toute tentative de catégorisation.

David Douard, HERE EV’R NOW 2, 2020

David Douard
HERE EV’R NOW 2
2020
Projection vidéo (extrait de My Own Private Idaho, 1991 de Gus Vant Sant), 1’ en boucle, son, rideaux
0min

Prix : 16 000 EUR H.T.

David Douard

 

 

Né en 1983 à Perpignan, David Douard vit et travaille à Paris.


David Douard situe sa pratique artistique à la croisée du langage, du son et de la sculpture. Collectés sur Internet, les textes et les poèmes qui composent ses œuvres sont manipulés, transformés et fonctionnent comme un flux vital qui alimente ses sculptures. Imprégnées d’une ambiance chaotique et décadente, les expositions de David Douard créent un environnement hors du réel où l’architecture du lieu et les œuvres qui l’envahissent semblent répondre à une logique métaphorique voire animiste.

Son travail a fait l’objet d’expositions personnelles et collectives dans des institutions internationales telles que :

Frac Île-de-France, Le Plateau (2020), Irish Museum of Modern Art (IMMA), Dublin (2019) ; KURA. c/o Fonderia Artistica Battaglia, Milan (2018) ; Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2014 et 2018) ; Musée d’art moderne de la ville de Paris, Paris (2015 et 2017) ; Kunstverein Braunschweig (2016); Fridericianum, Kassel (2015) ; Sculpture Center, New York (2014) ; Astrup Fearnley Museet, Oslo (2014) ; Fondation d’entreprise Ricard, Paris (2012).

David Douard a participé à plusieurs biennales : 12e Biennale de Lyon, France (2013) ; Biennale de Taipei, Taïwan (2014) ; Asia Culture Center - Biennale de Gwangju, Gwangju, Corée du Sud (2018).

David Douard fut résident à l’Académie de France à Rome - Villa Médicis (2017-2018).

Photo : Franck Ferville.

Envoyer
Annuler