Jean-Luc Moulène
Implicites & Objets
October 22 - December 19, 2020

 

For his sixth exhibition at Galerie Chantal Crousel, Jean-Luc Moulène takes us through a sculptural landscape where abstraction manifests itself as a force of thought and imagination, intertwined with still, bold figuration on a ritualized stage.

In the first room, the abstract object Montagne pourpre (2019) is put up upon its base.

The fruit of 3D modeling turned out on machine-tools, this impressive hard-foam sculpture is a surface with body. Designed by the artist, it is a three-dimensional monochrome.

pic

Jean-Luc Moulène
Montagne pourpre
2019
Paint and resin on hard foam - Manufacturing Créaform, Vierzon
80 x 115 x 93 cm | 31 1/2 x 45 2/8 x 36 5/8 inches

Price: 180,000 EUR excl. VAT

Grouped around the Montagne pourpre and back against the wall, a new ensemble of hand-crafted concrete sculptures entitled Implicites watch from afar but, observers, they witness and see their own interiority. Resulting from the same production protocol as the Tronches series (2014-2017), the figures are upside-down and inside-out, interiorized then filled with concrete – effigies with distorted faces and bodies.

 The concrete appears different from one sculpture to the next in terms of color (tones of grey) as much as surface (wax or epoxy). The bodies’ shapes and attributes burst out from their own erasing by the act of filling. This, in a sense, is a staging of sensitive existence.

pic

Jean-Luc Moulène
Jeune Homme
2020
Waxed reinforced concrete
155 x 83 x 44 cm | 61 x 32 5/8 x 17 3/8 inches

Price: 115,000 EUR excl. VAT

Jean-Luc Moulène, Oscar, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Oscar
2020
Waxed reinforced concrete
128 x 50 x 40 cm | 50 3/8 x 19 5/8 x 15 3/4 inches

Price: 115,000 EUR excl. VAT

Jean-Luc Moulène, Grande, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Grande
2020
Waxed reinforced concrete
166 x 45 x 46 cm | 65 3/8 x 17 6/8 x 18 1/8 inches

Price: 130,000 EUR excl. VAT

Jean-Luc Moulène, Marie, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Marie
2020
Waxed reinforced concrete
176 x 36 x 26 cm | 69 2/8 x 14 1/8 x 10 2/8 inches

Price: 130,000 EUR excl. VAT

 They are either full latex or silicole bodies, which the artist turned inside out, poured concrete into and reinforced with threaded shaft. Once dry, the synthetic materials are removed and the concrete waxed or covered by epoxy resin.

In the the very center of the second room, we can find Pyramid’os (2020) — a totem sculpture in bronze on the high pedestal.

The human body, its organs and its limbs constitute a lexical repertoire on which many tongues have drawn has drawn to form many picturesque expressions. From Leonardo da Vinci to Corbusier, the human body has also served as a reference, as a measure. It can be its own standard or part of geometry, or even serve as a unit in a space structured by its proportions.

Echoing this history and these uses, Jean-Luc Moulène has constructed a pyramid with the long bones of the four human limbs. The leg bones–femurs, tibiae and fibulae–join the arm bones–humeri, radii et ulnae–in the pyramid’s skeleton. Thus each of the four joints at the figure’s four vertices–elbows and knees–suffers a dismemberment to follow the laws of geometry.

The form erected by Moulène is empty in its heart. This absence reveals the margins to which the lower and upper limbs have been relayed, leaving to the heart, the lungs and the brain their dominant function. The artist defines his pieces as documentary sculptures. This composition bears witness to the representations that constitute our bodies.

— Balthazar Lovay

Jean-Luc Moulène, Pyramid'os, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Pyramid'os
2020
Bronze, vertdigris patina - Fonderie de Coubertin
Approx. 54 x 77 x 65 cm | 21 2/8 x 30 3/8 x 25 5/8 inches
Edition 2/3 + 2 AP
Price: 80,000 EUR excl. VAT

Jean-Luc Moulène, Tronche, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Tronche
2020
Graphite on paper
62.5 x 53.5 x 2.5 cm | 24 5/8 x 21 1/8 x 1 inches (framed)

Price: 9,000 EUR excl. VAT

The drawings and collages […] take us into the creative backyard of a cultivated, mordant mind striving to comprehend the world it lives in without forgetting to have fun and entertain. Others serve to exorcise old demons that the artist pins down one and for all on paper.

— Michel Blancsubé

With this object, Jean-Luc Moulène plays on the axes of space with a column and its spiral. If the column is deflected, the spiral is continuous. Red speeds up the movement. The artist inserts a new sign that creates a different direction of the eye.

pic

Jean-Luc Moulène
Colonne Déviée
2019
Wood, oil paint
50 x 18 x 18 cm | 19 5/8 x 7 1/8 x 7 1/8 inches

Price: 40,000 EUR excl. VAT

Jean-Luc Moulène, 66, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
66
2020
Reinforced concrete, epoxy resin
65 x 27 x 15 cm | 25 5/8 x 10 5/8 x 5 7/8 inches

Price: 60,000 EUR excl. VAT

Reiterating the formal issues raised by Montagne pourpre, Montagne blanche (2020) has a ‘quelconque’ (ordinary) abstract shape - frequently used term in the artist’s lexicon to describe a shape, a thing of which we know neither the structure, composition nor transformation.

Montagne blanche is a large white monochrome still with traces of oil painting on its surface, each trace linking straight back to the visible gestures of the artist painting on canvas.

Also relief painting, Nature Morte (2020) is not a ‘quelconque’ shape but a volume with realistic, non-covert parts, bones and stones.

Jean-Luc Moulène, Nature Morte, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Nature Morte
2020
Wood, canvas, porcelain, polystyrene, plastic, stones, shellac, coating, oil paint
41 x 75 x 49 cm | 16 1/8 x 29 1/2 x 19 2/8 inches

Price: 70,000 EUR excl. VAT

Jean-Luc Moulène, Montagne Blanche, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Montagne blanche
2020
Wood, canvas, porcelain, polystyrene, coating, oil paint
45 x 75 x 53 cm | 17 6/8 x 29 1/2 x 20 7/8 inches

Price: 70,000 EUR excl. VAT

.

Hundreds of nazar boncukları are spread over the top of Talisman (2020), small, traditional, Turkish glass amulets designed to protect against the evil eye — tipping the wink one could say at the ‘quelconque’ abstraction shown at the 2019 Venice Biennale (Pale blue Eyes, 2019) — which seem to proliferate and look around, eyeing as much the sculptures as the visitors.

Jean-Luc Moulène, Talisman, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Talisman
2020
Stones and Nazar boncuk in epoxy resin
17 x 29 x 23 cm | 6 6/8 x 11 3/8 x 9 inches

Price: 35,000 EUR excl. VAT

.

Photo: Pauline Assathiany

 Jean-Luc Moulène

Born in 1955, in Reims, France.
Lives and works in Saint-Langis-lès-Mortagne, France.

Drawings and sculptural objects have always played a part in his work, but both have assumed greater importance in recent years, superseding photography to become the chief component of Moulène’s most recent, large-scale exhibitions, though the essential spirit driving his distinctive œuvre remains unchanged. Moulène’s works explore the question of representation in his chosen media, while at the same time drawing on their essential physicality and materiality to engage tirelessly with political, social and ontological issues ‘made flesh’—notably through the concept of ‘transaction’, an economically and sensitively charged term applied to the ongoing transaction between the imagination and reality.

During these past two decades, Jean-Luc Moulène’s works have been presented in many great institutions and for important international events with for instance: the exhibitions More or Less Bone at SculptureCenter, New York, (2019) ; The Secession Knot at Secession, Vienna (2017); Jean-Luc Moulène at Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris (2016); Il était une fois at Villa Medici, Rome (2015); Documents and Opus (1985 - 2014) at Kunstverein in Hanover (2015); Jean-Luc Moulène . works at Beirut Art Center (2013); Jean-Luc Moulène at Modern Art Oxford, Oxford (2012); Opus + One, Dia:Beacon, Beacon, New York (2012); Jean-Luc Moulène at Carré d’art – Musée d’art contemporain in Nîmes (2010) or Le Monde – le Louvre at Musée du Louvre, Paris (2005); His participation to several biennales: 58th Venice Biennale (2019); Taipei Biennale, Taipei (2016); Biennale Internationale Design, Saint-Etienne (2015); Sharjah Biennale (2011) and at the Sao Paulo Biennale (2002).

Submit
Cancel

Jean-Luc Moulène
Implicites & Objets
22 octobre - 28 novembre 2020



Pour sa sixième exposition à la Galerie Chantal Crousel, Jean-Luc Moulène propose un paysage sculptural où l’abstraction se présente comme une force de pensée, d’imagination, évoluant conjointement avec une figuration forte et fixe dans un espace ritualisé.

Au centre de la première salle, un objet abstrait, la Montagne pourpre (2019) est installée sur son socle.

Conçue à partir de modélisation 3D et produite par machine-outils, cette imposante sculpture abstraite en mousse dure est une surface remplie. Elle est conçue par l’artiste comme un monochrome en trois dimensions.

pic

Jean-Luc Moulène
Montagne pourpre
2019
Peinture et résine sur mousse dure
80 x 115 x 93 cm | 31 1/2 x 45 2/8 x 36 5/8 inches

Prix : 180 000 EUR H.T.

Assemblés autour de la Montagne Pourpre et adossés au mur, un ensemble de sculptures inédites en béton, les Implicites l’observent à distance. Par cette observation, ils sont également amenés à regarder leur propre intériorité. En effet, suivant le même protocole de production déjà utilisé pour la série des Tronches (2014-2017), ce sont des figures retournées, inversées, intériorisées puis remplies de béton - des effigies aux corps et faciès distordus.

L’aspect du béton diffère d’une sculpture à l’autre, tant par sa couleur (nuances de gris) que par son traitement de surface (cire, époxy). La forme des corps et leurs attributs surgissent de leur propre effacement par l’action de remplissage. On peut parler ici de mise en scène de leur existence sensible.

pic

Jean-Luc Moulène
Jeune Homme
2020
Béton armé ciré
155 x 83 x 44 cm | 61 x 32 5/8 x 17 3/8 inches

Prix : 115 000 EUR H.T.

Jean-Luc Moulène, Oscar, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Oscar
2020
Béton armé ciré
128 x 50 x 40 cm | 50 3/8 x 19 5/8 x 15 3/4 inches

Prix : 115 000 EUR H.T.

Jean-Luc Moulène, Grande, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Grande
2020
Béton armé ciré
166 x 45 x 46 cm | 65 3/8 x 17 6/8 x 18 1/8 inches

Prix : 130 000 EUR H.T.

Jean-Luc Moulène, Marie, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Marie
2020
Béton armé ciré
176 x 36 x 26 cm | 69 2/8 x 14 1/8 x 10 2/8 inches

Prix : 130 000 EUR H.T.

 Ce sont des corps entiers en latex ou silicone, d’abord retournées à l’envers par l’artiste puis dans lesquels il verse du béton renforcé par des tiges métalliques souvent apparentes à la fin du processus de production. Quand le béton est sec, la matière synthétique est retirée, le béton ciré ou recouvert de résine epoxy.

Au cœur de la seconde salle, nous trouvons une sculpture totémique en bronze sur socle haut, Pyramid’os (2020).

Le corps humain, ses organes et ses membres constituent un répertoire lexical dans lequel la langue a puisé pour former quantité d’expressions imagées. De Léonard de Vinci au Corbusier, le corps humain sert aussi de référence, de mesure. Il peut être son propre étalon ou s’inscrire dans une géométrie, ou encore servir d’unité dans un espace structuré par ses proportions.

En écho à cette histoire et à ces usages, Jean-Luc Moulène construit une pyramide avec les os longs des quatre membres humains. Les os des jambes, fémurs, tibias et péronés rejoignent les os des bras, humérus, radius et cubitus sur les arêtes de la pyramide. Ainsi chacune des quatre articulations aux quatre sommets – coudes et genoux – de la forme subit un écartèlement pour suivre les lois de la géométrie.

La forme érigée par Moulène est vide en son coeur. Cette absence révèle les marges auxquelles les membres inférieurs et supérieurs ont été relayés, laissant au coeur, aux poumons et au cerveau leur fonction dominante. L’artiste définit ses pièces comme des sculptures documentaires. Cette composition se fait témoin des représentations constituant nos corps.

— Balthazar Lovay

Jean-Luc Moulène, Pyramid'os, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Pyramid'os
2020
Bronze patiné vert de gris - Fonderie de Coubertin
Approx. 54 x 77 x 65 cm | 21 2/8 x 30 3/8 x 25 5/8 inches
Edition 2/3 + 2 AP
Prix : 80 000 EUR H.T.

Jean-Luc Moulène, Tronche, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Tronche
2020
Mine de plomb sur papier
62.5 x 53.5 x 2.5 cm | 24 5/8 x 21 1/8 x 1 inches (encadré)

Prix : 9 000 EUR H.T.

Les dessins et les collages […] nous emmènent dans la cour créative d’un esprit cultivé et mordant qui s’efforce de comprendre le monde dans lequel il vit sans oublier de s’amuser et de divertir. D’autres servent à exorciser de vieux démons que l’artiste épingle un et pour tous sur papier.

— Michel Blancsubé

Avec cet objet, Jean-Luc Moulène joue sur les axes de l’espace avec une colonne et sa spirale. Si la colonne est déviée, la spirale, elle, est continue. Le rouge accélère le mouvement. L’artiste insère un nouveau signe qui créé une autre direction du regard.

pic

Jean-Luc Moulène
Colonne Déviée
2019
Bois, peinture à l'huile
50 x 18 x 18 cm | 19 5/8 x 7 1/8 x 7 1/8 inches

Prix : 40 000 EUR H.T.

Jean-Luc Moulène, 66, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
66
2020
Béton armé, résine époxy
65 x 27 x 15 cm | 25 5/8 x 10 5/8 x 5 7/8 inches

Prix : 60 000 EUR H.T.

Reprenant les questions formelles soulevées par la Montagne pourpre, la Montagne blanche (2020) a une forme abstraite «quelconque» - terme fréquemment utilisé dans le lexique de l’artiste pour définir une forme, une chose pour laquelle nous ne connaissons ni l’organisation, ni la composition, ni la transformation.

La Montagne Blanche est un grand monochrome blanc qui garde en surface les traces de la peinture à l’huile. Toutes ces traces renvoient directement aux gestes visibles de l’artiste peignant sa toile.

Autre peinture en relief, Nature Morte (2020) n’est pas une forme quelconque, c’est un volume avec des éléments réalistes et non dissimulés, tels que des os et des cailloux.

Jean-Luc Moulène, Nature Morte, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Nature Morte
2020
Bois, toile, porcelaine, polystyrène, plastique, pierres, gommes laque, enduits, peinture à l’huile
41 x 75 x 49 cm | 16 1/8 x 29 1/2 x 19 2/8 inches

Prix : 70 000 EUR H.T.

Jean-Luc Moulène, Montagne Blanche, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Montagne blanche
2020
Bois, toile, porcelaine, polystyrène, enduits, peinture à l'huile
45 x 75 x 53 cm | 17 6/8 x 29 1/2 x 20 7/8 inches

Prix : 70 000 EUR H.T.

.

Sur la partie supérieure de Talisman (2020), se répandent des centaines de Nazar boncuk, petites amulettes traditionnelles turques en verre destinées à protéger contre le mauvais oeil. Non sans rappeler l’abstraction quelconque présentée à la Biennale de Venise en 2019 (Pale blue Eyes, 2019), ces yeux, qui semblent se multiplier, regardent la scène et épient tant les sculptures que les visiteurs.

Jean-Luc Moulène, Talisman, 2020

Jean-Luc Moulène
Talisman
2020
Pierre et Nazar boncuk en résine époxy
17 x 29 x 23 cm | 6 6/8 x 11 3/8 x 9 inches

Prix : 35 000 EUR H.T.

.

Photo : Pauline Assathiany

Jean-Luc Moulène

Né à Reims en 1955.
Vit et travaille à Saint-Langis-lès-Mortagne, France.

Les dessins et objets sculpturaux, qui ont toujours participé de son travail, ont pris par la suite une importance plus grande, au point de devenir majoritaires dans ses dernières grandes expositions, sans changer foncièrement l’esprit qui anime cette œuvre singulière. En plus d’interroger les enjeux de représentation de son médium, elle ne cesse d’aborder, dans sa matérialité même, des questions politiques et sociales, mais aussi ontologiques, notamment à travers la notion de « transaction », un terme investi de manière économique aussi bien que sensible, à travers une transaction permanente de l’imaginaire avec le réel.

Au cours de ces deux dernières décennies, les oeuvres de Jean-Luc Moulène ont été présentées dans les plus grandes institutions et lors des plus importants évènements internationaux, parmi lesquels : les expositions More or Less Bone au SculptureCenter, New York (2019) ; The Secession Knot à Secession, Vienne (2017) ; Jean-Luc Moulène au Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris (2016) ; Il était une fois à la Villa Médicis, Rome (2015) ; Documents and Opus (1985 - 2014) au Kunstverein de Hanovre (2015) ; Jean-Luc Moulène . works au Beirut Art Center (2013) ; Jean-Luc Moulène au Modern Art Oxford (2012) ; Opus + One, Dia: Beacon, Beacon, New York (2012) ; Jean-Luc Moulène au Carré d’art – Musée d’art contemporain de Nîmes (2010) ou encore Le Monde – le Louvre au Musée du Louvre, Paris (2005) ; et sa participation à de nombreuses biennales : 58ème Biennale de Venise (2019) ; Biennale de Taipei (2016) ; Biennale Internationale Design, Saint-Etienne (2015) ; Biennale de Sharjah (2011) ou encore la Biennale de Sao Paulo (2002).

Envoyer
Annuler