Galerie Chantal Crousel is pleased to announce the collaboration with Mimosa Echard.

 

 

Mimosa Echard’s practice is inspired by the creation of hybrid eco-systems where the living and the non-living, the human and the non-human coexist. Her works explore areas of contact and contamination between the organic objects and consumer items — elements that can be perceived as ambivalent or even contradictory through our cultural conventions.

At the core of the artist's compositions and installations, medicinal plants collected in her garden or from the inhabitants of her native village create a symbiosis with the cosmetic products or electronic components; copper foils and metal chains bind to cherry pits, lichen and snail shells.

 

Mimosa Echard, 2020, Paris. Photo crédit: Jonathan Martin

Born in 1986, Mimosa Echard graduated from the École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs, Paris in 2010.

She has exhibited her work in various internationally renowned institutions such as:

Musée d'Art Moderne de Paris (2019); Dortmunder Kunstverein, Dortmund (2019); Platform-L Contemporary Art Center, Seoul (2018); Palais de Tokyo,
Paris (2019, 2017); Cell Project Space Gallery, London (2017).

 

 

Her next solo exhibitions will take place at ACCA Australian Center for Contemporary Art, Melbourne (December 2020) and at Palais de Tokyo, Paris (Fall 2021).

Her works are among others in the collections of CNAP Centre national des arts plastiques, Musée d'Art Moderne de Paris, Foundation Louis Vuitton, Fondation d’entreprise Galeries Lafayette, Sadami Art Foundation, Ettore Fico Foundation, IAC Villeurbanne, FRAC Corse, and FRAC Ile-de-France.

 

 

Detail, Mimosa Echard, Chakra crachat (1), 2019.

Mimosa Echard, Chakra crachat (1), 2019

Mimosa Echard
Chakra crachat (1)
2019
Print, fabric, digital print on fabric, acrylic glue, pearl, false nails, pills, snail shell, Mimosa flower, necklace, stickers, stone egg, cherry pit, pendant, Clitoria flower, wire
200 x 339 cm | 78 6/8 x 133 1/2 inches

Price: 23,000 EUR excl. VAT

Towards this work by Mimosa Echard, the gaze is first surprised by the heterogeneous objects, before being seized by a secret relationship between forms and materials. Gradually, the community of forms, materials and objects emancipates from the artist’s hand, becomes fluid and autonomous.

“The work of Mimosa consists of waging that [...] this pathic zone is simultaneously one of friendship, desire, pleasure and plasticity: an interstitial zone where forms are affected, affects are informed, and where material works to become the world.”

— Romain Noël

In Chakra crachat series the artist uses collages of photographs printed on paper and on fabric. These static images are covered with a thin layer of epidermis of irregular shape. This surface is in fact a network of folds formed by the application of an acrylic glue used to plaster lengths of silky and transparent fabrics, in which small objects and organic materials are sometimes confined.

Mimosa Echard, Chakra crachat (3), 2019

Mimosa Echard
Chakra crachat (3)
2019
Print, fabric, digital print on fabric, acrylic glue, pearl, false nails, pills, snail shell, Mimosa flower, necklace, stickers, stone egg, cherry pit, pendant, Clitoria flower, wire
170 x 113 cm | 66 7/8 x 44 1/2 inches

Price: 11,000 EUR excl. VAT

Mimosa Echard

Mimosa Echard
Sisters
2020
Kitchen trolley aluminium glass, Calendula, skin capsule, Lotus seeds, Clitoria flowers, fern, Ginseng, Gardenia, glitter, synthetic foam, condom packaging, textile printing, fabric, vinyl glue.
82 x 120 x 100 cm | 32 2/8 x 47 2/8 x 39 3/8 inches

Price: 9,000 EUR excl. VAT

Exhibition view, The Dialectic of the Stars: Extinction Dancefloor, Platform-L Contemporary Art Center, Seoul, 2018. Photo credits: Jinho Kim

The shapes and textures that emerge from these assemblages appear to be the membranes, which capture within them a cycle of transformations specific to the materials. Mindful of the life of things, Mimosa Echard wonders about the movements of elements and objects still intangible in our minds.

Mimosa Echard, LUCA Robe, 2019

Mimosa Echard
LUCA Robe
2019
Synthetic fabric, acrylic glue, latex, print silk, oil painting, hangers, pigment, ink
Variable dimensions

Price: 10,000 EUR excl. VAT

Mimosa Echard, Le camping, le sol dur, la nausée tous les matins, les règles, 2020

Mimosa Echard
Le camping, le sol dur, la nausée tous les matins, les règles
2020
Cherry pit, dried leaves, print on fabric, latex, acrylic glue
300 x 370 cm | 118 1/8 x 145 5/8 inches

Price: 20,000 EUR excl. VAT

The film The People (2016) by Mimosa Echard could mirror the very matrix of her practice. In this video, the artist overlays sequences filmed during six years in her childhood village in the Cévennes, France. The two hours long film reminds us of a wandering mingled by encounters, smiles, bountiful nature and hallucinatory glimmer.

Mimosa Echard, The People, 2016

Mimosa Echard
The People
2016
HD video
2h00min
Edition 3/6 + 2 AP
Price: 9,000 EUR excl. VAT

“It also comes from the childhood, when I watched MTV and was living in a very wild environment, there was something quirky and almost violent in this encounter between the TV culture and the nature. All these things and images have always fascinated me: the make-up boxes with the spider nests inside, the nature melting into our everyday life objects, the domestic interior and the outside wilderness which overlapped and consumed each other a bit. The encounter of culture and psychedelic aesthetic with a very formal and industrial world of my adolescence always runs through my work.”

— Mimosa Echard

For Mimosa Echard, her studio is a place where her relationship to the materials imbued with one another fully exists. This job of fusing and interpenetrating — the artist gently assigns it to the components themselves, solidified inside the Plexiglas boxes like in the A/B series, which seem to be destined to a mysterious existence, operated by a slow process similar to the decoction.

“Mimosa Echard’s work gives access to a world where everything interpenetrates and transforms, an orgiastic world where desire shows its fangs and pleasures compose a revolted alphabet in an obscure voice.”

— Romain Noël

Mimosa Echard

Mimosa Echard
Salomon LAMOUR
2020
Fern, Calendula, Tears of Job, glitter, Clitoria flowers, Gardenia, Ginkgo egg, Yarrow, glass beads, bell, skin beauty capsule, Trinordiol pill package, lichen, kapok, fabric, pantyhose, synthetic foam, beeswax, depilatory wax, epoxy resin
30.5 x 20.5 x 3.5 cm | 12 x 8 1/8 x 1 3/8 inches

Price: 3,500 EUR excl. VAT

Mimosa Echard

Mimosa Echard
A, B, Lacrifluid
2020
Algae, Yarrow, foundation, glass beads, cherry pits, Pregnancy Support packaging, Elf ear prosthesis, lichen, Gardenia, skin beauty capsule, Lacrifluid, cicada molt, bee, peach pits, fern, green mould, beeswax, depilatory wax, epoxy resin
30.5 x 20.5 x 3.5 cm | 12 x 8 1/8 x 1 3/8 inches

Price: 3,500 EUR excl. VAT

Mimosa Echard

Mimosa Echard
A, B, Eye
2020
Algae, glass beads, plastic beads, Lichen, Ginkgo egg, cherry pits, Yarrow, Lily, Tansy, shell, Tears of Job, butterfly, Pregnancy Support package, skin beauty capsule, Millepertvis, peach pits, beeswax, depilatory wax, epoxy resin
30.5 x 20.5 x 3.5 cm | 12 x 8 1/8 x 1 3/8 inches

Price: 3,500 EUR excl. VAT

Mimosa Echard

Mimosa Echard
Salomon, Ao
2020
Fern, lichen, snail shell, glass beads, lichen, river pearl, Clitoria flowers, Calendula condom, Tears of Job, necklace, elf ear prosthesis, cories, cherry pits, Yarrow, Gingko egg, Lacrifluid, Trinordiol pill package, Gardenia, skin beauty capsule, pantyhose, kapok, synthetic foam, epoxy resin fabric
41 x 20.5 x 3.5 cm | 16 1/8 x 8 1/8 x 1 3/8 inches

Price: 3,500 EUR excl. VAT

Exhibition view, Pulsion Potion, Cell Project Space, London, 2017.

For more information, please contact sales@crousel.com

or call +33 1 42 77 38 87.

Submit
Cancel

La Galerie Chantal Crousel est heureuse d'annoncer le début de sa collaboration avec Mimosa Echard.


Mimosa Echard s'intéresse à la création d'éco-systèmes hybrides où le vivant et le non-vivant, l'humain et le non-humain cohabitent. Ses œuvres explorent des zones de contact et de contamination entre des objets organiques et des objets de consommation, des éléments que nos conventions culturelles peuvent percevoir comme ambivalentes, voire contradictoires.

Au cœur des compositions et des installations de l'artiste, des plantes médicinales collectées dans son jardin ou auprès d'habitants de son village natal entrent en symbiose avec des produits cosmétiques ou des composants électroniques ; des feuilles de cuivre et des chaînes métalliques se lient à des noyaux de cerise, du lichen et des coquilles d’escargot.

Mimosa Echard, 2020, Paris. Crédit photo : Jonathan Martin
 

Mimosa Echard (née en 1986) est diplômée de l’École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Paris en 2010.

Elle a exposé son travail dans des lieux de renommés internationales :

le Musée d'Art Moderne de Paris (2019) ; Dortmunder Kunstverein, Dortmund, (2019) ; Plateform-L Contemporary Art Center, Séoul (2018) ; Palais de Tokyo,
Paris (2019, 2017) ; Cell Project Space Gallery, Londres (2017).

 

 

Ses prochaines expositions personnelles auront lieu au ACCA Australian Center for Contemporary Art, Melbourne (décembre 2020) et au Palais de Tokyo, Paris (automne 2021).

Ses œuvres figurent entre autres dans les collections du CNAP Centre national des arts plastiques, du Musée d'Art Moderne de Paris, de la Fondation Louis Vuitton, de la Fondation d’entreprise Galeries Lafayette, de la Fondation Samdani Art, de la Fondation Ettore Fico, de l'IAC Villeurbanne, du FRAC Corse, et du FRAC Ile-de-France.

 

 

Détail de l'œuvre, Mimosa Echard, Chakra crachat (1), 2019.

Mimosa Echard, Chakra crachat (1), 2019

Mimosa Echard
Chakra crachat (1)
2019
Impression, tissu, impression numérique sur tissu, colle acrylique, perle, faux ongles, pilules, coquille d'escargot, fleur de mimosa, collier, autocollants, œuf en pierre, noyau de cerise, pendentif, fleur de clitoria, fil de fer
200 x 339 cm | 78 6/8 x 133 1/2 inches

Prix : 23 000 EUR H.T.

Face à l'œuvre de Mimosa Echard, le regard est d'abord surpris par ces objets hétéroclites avant d'être saisi par la relation secrète qu'entretiennent de fait ces formes et ces matières. Progressivement, cette communauté d'objets s'émancipe de la main de l'artiste, se fluidifie et devient autonome.

« Le travail de Mimosa Echard consiste à parier [...] que cette zone pathique est tout à la fois celle de l'amitié, du désir, du plaisir et de la plasticité : zone interstitielle où les formes s'affectent, où les affects s'informent, et où la matière travaille à devenir monde. »

— Romain Noël

Dans la série Chakra crachat, l'artiste utilise des photographies imprimées sur papier et sur tissu. Ces images fixes sont recouvertes d'une fine couche d'épiderme à la surface irrégulière. Ce relief est en fait un réseau de plis formé par l'application d'une colle acrylique utilisée pour plaquer des longueurs de tissus soyeux et transparents, dans lesquels sont parfois emprisonnés de petits objets et des matières organiques.

Mimosa Echard, Chakra crachat (3), 2019

Mimosa Echard
Chakra crachat (3)
2019
Impression, tissu, impression numérique sur tissu, colle acrylique, perle, faux ongles, pilules, coquille d'escargot, fleur de mimosa, collier, autocollants, œuf en pierre, noyau de cerise, pendentif, fleur de clitoria, fil de fer
170 x 113 cm | 66 7/8 x 44 1/2 inches

Prix : 11 000 EUR H.T.

Mimosa Echard

Mimosa Echard
Sisters
2020
Desserte verre aluminium, Calendula, gélule pour la peau, graines de Lotus, fleurs de Clitoria, fougère, Ginseng, Gardenia, paillettes, mousse synthétique, emballage de préservatif, impression sur textile, tissu, colle vinylique.
82 x 120 x 100 cm | 32 2/8 x 47 2/8 x 39 3/8 inches

Prix : 9 000 EUR H.T.

Vue d'exposition, The Dialectic of the Stars: Extinction Dancefloor, Platform-L Contemporary Art Center, Séoul, 2018. Crédit photo : Jinho Kim

Les formes et les textures qui naissent de ces assemblages prennent alors l'apparence de membranes qui recueilleraient en leur sein un cycle de transformations propre aux matériaux. Attentive à la vie des choses, Mimosa Echard réfléchit à des circulations d'objets et de substances encore impalpables à nos yeux.

Mimosa Echard, LUCA Robe, 2019

Mimosa Echard
LUCA Robe
2019
Tissu synthétique, colle acrylique, latex, soie imprimée, peinture à l'huile, pigment, cintres, encre
Variable dimensions

Prix : 10 000 EUR H.T.

Mimosa Echard, Le camping, le sol dur, la nausée tous les matins, les règles, 2020

Mimosa Echard
Le camping, le sol dur, la nausée tous les matins, les règles
2020
Noyau de cerise, feuilles séchées, impression sur tissu, latex, colle acrylique
300 x 370 cm | 118 1/8 x 145 5/8 inches

Prix : 20 000 EUR H.T.

Le film The People (2016) de Mimosa Echard pourrait s'apparenter à une matrice de son travail. Dans cette vidéo, l'artiste superpose des séquences filmées pendant six années dans le village des Cévennes où elle a passé son enfance. Les deux heures du film ressemblent à une errance mêlés de rencontres, de sourires, de nature foisonnante, et de scintillements hallucinés.

Mimosa Echard, The People, 2016

Mimosa Echard
The People
2016
Vidéo HD
2h00min
Edition 3/6 + 2 AP
Prix : 9 000 EUR H.T.

« Cela vient aussi de l'enfance, quand je regardais MTV alors que j'habitais dans un monde très sauvage, il y a quelque chose de décalé, voire de quasiment violent dans cette rencontre entre cette culture télé et la nature. […]
Toutes ces choses m'ont toujours fascinée et des images m'ont marquée : les boîtes de maquillages dans lesquelles les araignées avaient fait leurs nids, la nature qui se mêle à nos objets du quotidien, l'intérieur domestique et l'extérieur sauvage qui s'emboîtent et se mangent un peu l'un l'autre. La rencontre d'une culture et d'une esthétique psychédélique avec le monde très formaté et industriel de mon adolescence traverse toujours mon travail.»

— Mimosa Echard

L'atelier est pour Mimosa Echard l'espace au sein duquel existe pleinement son rapport aux matériaux qu'elle fait infuser les uns avec les autres. Ce travail de mélange et d'interpénétration, l'artiste le délègue progressivement aux composants eux-mêmes, qui, figés à l'intérieur de boîtes en Plexiglas comme dans la série A/B, nous apparaissent voués à une existence mystérieuse, régie par un lent processus proche de la décoction.

« Le travail de Mimosa Echard permet d'accéder à un monde où tout s'interpénètre et se transforme; monde orgiaque où le désir montre les crocs, et où les plaisirs composent à voix obscure un alphabet révolté. »

— Romain Noël

Mimosa Echard

Mimosa Echard
Salomon LAMOUR
2020
Fougère, Calendula, Larmes de Job, paillettes, fleurs de Clitoria, Gardenia, ovule de Ginkgo, Achillée, perles en verre, grelot, gélule pour la beauté de la peau, emballage de pilule Trinordiol, lichen, kapok, tissu, collant, mousse synthétique, cire d'abeille, cire dépilatoire, résine époxy
30.5 x 20.5 x 3.5 cm | 12 x 8 1/8 x 1 3/8 inches

Prix : 3 500 EUR H.T.

Mimosa Echard

Mimosa Echard
A, B, Lacrifluid
2020
Algues, Achillée, fond de teint, perles en verre, noyaux de cerises, emballage Pregnancy Support, prothèse oreille d'Elfe, lichen, Gardenia, gélule pour la beauté de la peau, Lacrifluid, mue de cigale, abeille, noyaux de pêches, fougère, moule verte, cire d'abeille, cire dépilatoire, résine époxy
30.5 x 20.5 x 3.5 cm | 12 x 8 1/8 x 1 3/8 inches

Prix : 3 500 EUR H.T.

Mimosa Echard

Mimosa Echard
A, B, Eye
2020
Algues, perles de verre, perle en plastique, lichen, ovule de Ginkgo, noyaux de cerises, Achillée, Lys, Tanaisie, coquillage, Larmes de Job, papillon, emballage Pregnancy Support, gélule pour la beauté de la peau, Millepertvis, noyaux de pêches, cire d'abeille, cire dépilatoire, résine époxy
30.5 x 20.5 x 3.5 cm | 12 x 8 1/8 x 1 3/8 inches

Prix : 3 500 EUR H.T.

Mimosa Echard

Mimosa Echard
Salomon, Ao
2020
Fougère, lichen, coquille d'escargot, perles de verre, lichen, perle de rivière, fleurs de Clitoria, préservatif Calendula, Larmes de Job, collier, prothèse oreille d'elfe, cories, noyaux de cerises, Achillée, ovule de Gingko, Lacrifluid, emballage de pilule Trinordiol, Gardenia, gélule pour la beauté de la peau, collant, kapok, mousse synthétique, tissu résine époxy.
41 x 20.5 x 3.5 cm | 16 1/8 x 8 1/8 x 1 3/8 inches

Prix : 3 500 EUR H.T.

Vue d'exposition, Pulsion Potion, Cell Project Space, Londres, 2017.

Pour plus d'informations, merci de contacter sales@crousel.com

ou de nous appeler au 01 42 77 38 87.

Envoyer
Annuler